Gold Medal Of Philology

ISP Award

The Gold Medal is awarded every five years on the occasion of the International Congress to recognize outstanding philological achievement for existing work and for the promise of future achievement.

The International Society grants a Prize for philological achievement, awarded every five years at the Opening Ceremony of the International Congress. The Gold Medal recognizes outstanding philological achievement, achievements in philological aspects of information science, outstanding philological contributions that have found significant applications of grammar, individual whose accomplishments warrant the highest level of recognition for outstanding achievements in the field of philology.

The Gold Medal Committee is chosen by the Executive Committee of the International Society of Philology and is normally chaired by the Director of UNESCO.

The name of the Chair of the Committee is made public, but the names of other members of the Committee remain anonymous until the award of the prize at the Congress. If a former student (Ph.D. thesis only) of a Committee member is seriously considered, such a member shall not continue to serve on the Committee for its final decision.

The SPI prize of 2011 has been awarded on November 21st, 2011 during the Opening Ceremony of ISP 2011 in Delaware (USA). Information about the 2011 winner can be found on our page Ancient Medal winners.

The SPI prize of 2016 has been awarded on june, 8th, 2016, in Assemblée Nationale (France). President Claude Bartolone (Chairman of the French Parliament) chaired the ceremony, with 21 of the French Nobel Prized and Médailles d'or du CNRS' winners.


About two months in advance of an award, the ISP Executive Committee appoints a Selection Committee along the lines of the Prize Statutes and the SPI By-Laws. This includes specifications about the criteria of selection and instructions on how to act in a conflict of interest. The Prize Committees for ISP 2021 will begin their work in 2020. The names of the Selection Committee members remain confidential until Opening Ceremony 2021, only the names of the Chairs are made public. SPI President will invite nominations for all awards to be made the winter of 2020 (see also the nomination guidelines).